Criterion #4: Reading and Writing Activity #14: Activity XIV: Written Speech Analysis (EduBlog Post)

This speech was a really strong one. I don’t think there is a stronger title for the speech than the one it already has. It’s a title that describes the whole thing. A person can say this when he or she is going through a difficult moment, where they might feel like giving up, but they won’t because they trust themselves. In his speech, he uses personal history, statistics, to let the people know what he is trying to say. Of course there is a hook. The fact that he used his own life to describe what he was trying to say, was inspirational. Like I said he talks from personal stuff, he uses his history of being a coach, his disease and his family to let us know everything. He concludes his speech by saying the main things he is always thinking, that is: “Cancer can take away all my physical abilities. It cannot touch my mind, it cannot touch my heart, and it cannot touch my soul”. He gave us a statement where we can see that he doesn’t give up at all. With this speech he is trying to make us know that we have to help, help those people that need a hand. Personally, it motivates me. It makes me try to help more and to help myself too. Reading this was a way of understanding that there are other people going through stuff too like I am, but that doesn’t mean I have to give up, on the contrary I can’t. If I have diseases, problems; giving up has to be the last option. I have to always look ahead and never look back.

One thought on “Criterion #4: Reading and Writing Activity #14: Activity XIV: Written Speech Analysis (EduBlog Post)”

  1. When you quit something, you’ve given up. Makes you wonder what might be going through a person’s mind when the fight has gone out of him (or her).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *